About the museum

When Charles Dickens was born in this modest house in Portsmouth on 7 February 1812, Britain’s Navy was still at war with Napoleonic France. Charles’s father, John Dickens, a clerk in the Navy Pay Office, had brought his young bride Elizabeth down to Portsmouth in the summer of 1809, renting the house as the first home of their married life.

The furniture, ceramics, glass, household objects and decorations have been faithfully re-created to the Regency style that Charles’s parents would have favoured, although their actual possessions have long since been dispersed.

There are three furnished rooms: the parlour, the dining room and the bedroom where Charles was born. The exhibition room features a display on Charles Dickens and Portsmouth, as well as a small collection of memorabilia: the couch on which he died at his house in Kent, together with his snuff box, inkwell and paper knife; poignant reminders of an author celebrated for his prodigious talents and creative output.

Discover more about the history of the building and the Dickens family.

The major works of Charles Dickens

These are the major works of Dickens in date order:
Sketches by Boz – 1836
Pickwick Papers – 1836
Oliver Twist – 1837
Nicholas Nickleby – 1838
Old Curiosity Shop – 1840
Barnaby Rudge – 1841
American Notes – 1842
Martin Chuzzlewit – 1843
A Christmas Carol – 1843
The Chimes – 1844
The Cricket on the Hearth – 1845
Dombey and Son – 1846
David Copperfield – 1849
Bleak House – 1852
Hard Times – 1854
Little Dorrit – 1855
A Tale of Two Cities – 1859
Great Expectations – 1861
Our Mutual Friend – 1864
Edwin Drood (uncompleted) – 1870